Meal Prep 04/16/17

Trying to go back to basics a bit this week with my foods.  Cutting out some processed lunch meats, increasing veggies, focusing on good quality proteins, etc.  Also, my roommate and I decided that I wouldn’t be making her lunches anymore – at least for the foreseeable future – because she wasn’t eating them.  I hate throwing away food, and it’s annoying and kind of hurtful that she wasn’t eating the food I made her.  But, it’s also really hard to cook only food for 1 person when I don’t want to eat the same exact thing every single day and night.  So we’re trying to see if I can keep myself happy with only 1 breakfast option, 1 lunch option, and 2 dinner options.

This weeks meals consist of…

  • Egg Muffins!  I took a week break from the egg muffins, but I’ve brought them back this week.  I made them with sauted riced sweet potato and cauliflower (from a frozen veggie bag) with onion added into the saute, and then threw in some roasted asparagus and parmesan cheese.  Each muffin has 1 egg in it and I made 4 muffins.
  • Hardboiled eggs.  These have been a standard in our house for the past 2 months because it’s easy for both me and K to enjoy them and it’s a good source of quick protein for either of us.
  • Chicken Broccoli Salad – I took 6 oz of rotisserie chicken, diced/shredded it, and mixed it with a broccoli crown, 3 mini bell peppers, and 1/3 cup of shredded cheese. I then mixed a dressing with 2 tbsp of olive oil mayo and half an individual container of fage 0% plain yogurt, and then added mustard, apple cider vinegar and seasoning to taste.  Mixed that all together and it made 5 servings.
  • Flank Steak with asparagus and onions: I grilled a flank steak – rare – so that when I reheat it, it won’t get too overly cooked, and roasted asparagus and sauted some pearl onions.

pixlr_20170416134951137.jpg

Leave a Reply

